F1 Tracks F1 Tracks
Melbourne Sepang Interlagos Imola Barcelona A1 Ring Monaco Montreal Nurburgring Magny Cours Silverstone Hockenheim Hungaroring Spa Monza Indianapolis Suzuka
Track Info: Past 8 years Winners:
Length: 5.144 km

Nb of Laps: 60 (308.323 Km)

Best Lap: M. Schumacher - 1'32''226 (2002, Ferrari)

Record Pole: JP Montoya - 1'29''906 (2002, Williams BMW)

2002 Pole: JP Montoya - 1'29''906 (2002, Williams BMW)

2002 Podium: R. Barrichello - M. Schumacher - K. Raikkonen

ADAC Motorsport GmbH
Am West Park 8
81373 MŁnchen - Germany
Tel : +4989 7676 0
Fax: +4989 7676 2500
2002 : R. Barrichello (Ferrari)
2001 : M. Schumacher (Ferrari)
2000 : M. Schumacher (Ferrari)
1999 : J. Herbert (Stewart)
1998 : M. Hakkinen (McLaren)
1997 : J. Villeneuve (Williams)
1996 : J. Villeneuve (Williams)
1995 : M. Schumacher (Benetton)

In its early days, (1925) the Nurburgring was 17.58 miles in length, and was a seemingly endless chain of ups and downs, with many twisting curves between pine trees.

The sixties saw many a world champion win here with the great Sir Stirling Moss win his last ever race in 1961 and Jackie Stewart overcame horrendous conditions in 1968 to take the win by a full 4 minutes. Pressure from Stewart about the safety of the track, prompted the changes that took place in 1970 when barriers were installed, and the track was widened.

1976 saw the Nurburgring discontinued after Nikki Lauder suffered horrific burns, and when it returned in 1984, it was very different. It was rebuilt alongside the old track, and was reduced to 2.822 miles, with only a few interesting corners. Once again the track was modified in 1986, to its now 2.831 miles.

1995 produced an outstanding race with Michael Schumacher in the Benetton, passing the Ferrari of Jean Alesi with only three laps to go, and 96 saw Jacques Villeneuve secure his first Formula One victory. Michael Schumacher will never forget the 97 race as his younger brother, Ralf, forced him into retirement on the first lap. Both McLarens blew engines within a lap of each other, leaving Villeneuve to take the win.

McLarenís Mika Hakkinen took the win in 98, even after a Ferrari front row on the grid, but 1999 saw a fantastic win by Stewart driver Johnny Herbert. In a wet/dry race, the Englishman handed the team their maiden victory and sadly, Johnny failed to repeat the performance before he retired from the sport a year later. 2000 was Schumacherís turn for success, followed home by both McLaren drivers, Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard.