F1 Tracks F1 Tracks
Melbourne Sepang Interlagos Imola Barcelona A1 Ring Monaco Montreal Nurburgring Magny Cours Silverstone Hockenheim Hungaroring Spa Monza Indianapolis Suzuka
Track Info: Past 14 years Winners:
Length: 4.326 km

Nb of Laps: 71 (307.146 Km)

Best Lap: M. Schumacher - 1'09''298 (2002, Ferrari)

Record Pole: R. Barrichello - 1'08''082 (2002, Ferrari)

2002 Pole: R. Barrichello - 1'08''082 (Ferrari)

2002 Podium: M. Schumacher - R. Barrichello - J. Montoya

Leberstrasse 56-60
1110 Wien
Tel: +431 749 16 87
Fax : +431 749 16 88
2002 : M. Schumacher (Ferrari)
2001 : D. Coulthard (McLaren)
2000 : M. Hakkinen (McLaren)
1999 : E. Irvine (Ferrari)
1998 : M.Hakkinen (McLaren)
1997 : J. Villeneuve (Williams)
1986 : A. Prost (McLaren)
1985 : A. Prost (McLaren)
1984 : N. Lauda (McLaren)
1983 : A. Prost (Renault)
1982 : E. de Angelis (Lotus)
1981 : J. Laffite (Ligier)
1980 : J-P. Jabouille (Renault)
1979 : A. Jones (Williams)

1970 saw the first race at the popular A1-ring, which is set in magnificent countryside, with high-speed sweeps, and majestic corners. Jacky Ickx won that first race for Ferrari. This is the fastest track on the schedule, a favourite for many, and it sees many an unusual winner. In 1975, heavy rain stopped the race, with Vittorio Brambilla leading. This enabled him to take his only Grand Prix victory, which was marred when he crashed on his victory lap. American driver, Mark Donohue, sustained injuries when he crashed that morning, and a chicane was built at the Hella Licht Kurve as a result.

John Watson won his, and Penskeís only win in 1976, and in 1977, Australian driver, Alan Jones won his maiden victory. 1978 saw another rain drenched race, with Ronnie Peterson securing his final race win, before his tragic death. Niki Lauder finally won his home race in 1984, with Alain Prost winning in 83, 85 and 86.

Nigel Mansell took the win in 87, banging his head on a girder while being driven to the podium. The race itself was started three times, after massive pile-ups, and this is why the event was dropped, returning ten years later, with modifications. Jacques Villeneuve took the win for Williams in 1997, while the 98 event saw the first pole of the season go to a driver that wasnít in a Ferrari or a McLaren. Although Mika Hakkinen won, Giancarlo Fisichella had the elation of placing his Benetton on pole.

Eddie Irvine took the honours for Ferrari in 1999, the Irishman leading the Ferrari charge due to Michael Schumacherís accident at the British Grand Prix that saw the German sidelined for all bar two of the remaining races. Mika Hakkinen returned to the top step of the podium in 2000, followed home by teammate David Coulthard and Ferrari driver, Rubens Barrichello.